Time for Spring Break

Yep - this was spring. Got to love the North East coast.

Yep – this was spring. Got to love the North East coast.

Am I lazy? Simon Cowell tells me I am.

Okay, it wasn’t the Simon Cowell. It was the Simon Cowell equivalent in my writing class. Every class or critique group should have one: an individual who just doesn’t hold back. They don’t dress up their criticism, or apologise for the fact they hate your story. They simply tell you how it is.

This honesty is a good thing. If I am going to make it as a writer I need  thick skin. More importantly, I need to surround myself with people who will be honest. People who will challenge me. I never thought I’d say this out loud, but I need Simon Cowell.

And he’s right. I’m lazy.

My writing didn’t need to be torn apart by Simon’s brilliant white gnashers for me to know that I’d taken shortcuts. 

Yes, I’m lazy.

It’s not a sit on my bum and eat pies type of laziness. It’s more of a boredom induced lethargy.  I generally make the most of life and the opportunities that come my way. My glass is definitely half full. But to really thrive, I need variety: new adventures, new challenges, new things to get excited about. Currently I feel like Bill Murray in Groundhog Day; I’m going through the motions.

I’ve spent so much time with my latest writing project, I’m sick of it.   Yes, most days, I’m still sat at my laptop. Yes, I’m still experimenting with my writing. And yes, I’m persistent in my pursuit to make my story stronger.  But nothing changes.

As a result, I can hardly bear to look at my characters anymore.  I still love them. I always will. We’ve been through a lot together and divorce is not an option. But, I need some space. I want to visit new places, meet new people, experience new things. It’s something I have to do.

So au revoir my imaginary friends. I’m going away for a bit – or rather you are. I hope you understand that time apart will make us stronger. Please don’t cry. We’ll get back together, I promise. And then, refreshed, I’ll do away with the lazy and give you the attention you deserve. But for now we must part ways for a while. Into the desk draw you go.

P.S. Pass me your false tan Simon –  it’s time for spring break.   

2 thoughts on “Time for Spring Break

  1. Ah, absence makes the heart grow fonder ;-) I have found that writing, for me at least, is a very delicate balance of doing, living, and being in the “real” world along with introspective, imaginative, and fly by the seat of your pants creation in the written world. Too much of either makes both suffer. Enjoy your spring break with best wishes for a sun sighting through those clouds ;-) But, even if it remains in hiding, the surf is a wonderfully calming and introspective influence.

    • Hi Dave, thanks for your best wishes. We are actually enjoying some sunny weather here in the UK now so definitely a good time for a break. I agree, it’s all about balance. Too much time with my imaginary friends is not doing me any favours :-)

Leave a Reply

