Is My Flamingo Really a Psychopath?

My flamingo has issues no bones about it.

 

Knowledge is power.

Perhaps, but in a world where information is so readily available,  I can’t help but wonder if knowledge is more likely to result in paranoia?  Ask any Mum who has Googled her child’s medical symptoms at 2am and I’m sure she’ll agree. 

My latest writing project features a young flamingo who  has developed a fear of water. A simple plot but one which requires careful handling; childhood worries are not always straightforward to deal with and I don’t want to add to the confusion.  I need to proceed with caution and be sure about the subject before my flamingo and I jump in.

Not knowing where to start I therefore decided to ask Jeeves. (Well Google actually but that didn’t read so well.)  My search directed me to the Daily Mail Online and this article Is your child a psychopath? It would seem my flamingo has bigger issues than I thought. 

As I read more, I discovered a checklist of things to look out for. Paranoia set in. 

Forget the flamingo, what about my son? He is most definitely superficially charming when he wants his own way. Worse still he has at times lacked remorse – I’m simply not convinced he was really sorry when he ate my chocolate finger. My God I have spawned a monster!

What a load of pants. Tick box parenting gone mad.

Admittedly the Mail article does highlight that this is a controversial issue and that diagnosis is not straight forward. That doesn’t stop the author however suggesting we should look out for symptoms in difficult children from around the age of three. After all pocket-size psychopaths are more common than you or I would think.

Come on! Aren’t we all paranoid enough about the well-being of our kids?  Before you ask me if my child is insane I’d like a little more substance please.  

After all psychiatry is not exactly an industry known for its scientific endeavor. It isn’t that long ago that young women were labelled mentally ill just for getting pregnant and lobotomy was considered the norm.

In recent years the focus has shifted from demonisation to domination. It seems just about everyone is in need of psychiatric help and clearly children are not exempt.  

The dubious nature of the psychiatry industry both petrifies and fascinates me. I recently read “The Psychopath Test” by Jon Ronson, an easily digestible and humorous overview of what he calls the madness industry. Ronson highlights  the growing number of children in the US  being diagnosed with bipolar disorder. It is likely many are simply attention deficit yet they are put on a mind numbing cocktail of drugs designed to pacify them until they supposedly grow out of their condition.  A normal childhood robbed by a check-list approach to psychiatry that de-contextualises behavior and reduces children to a list of very broad criteria.

Can we be sure the same is not true of these so called psychopathic children? A little bit of knowledge in a world dominated by tick box diagnostics is a very dangerous thing.

I still don’t know the answer to my flamingo’s problems but I do know one thing. As writers we have a huge responsibility. It is not enough just to tell a story or describe an issue. We also need to think about the subtext, the deeper meaning of the discourse. Sometimes words are not simply words. Let’s not trigger another wrong turn on the information highway.

About RieWriting

I am going to rewrite my story through telling stories. The end is still a little sketchy, but the plot is thickening. I blog about my writing journey and the power of story as a tool for change. It’s a blog about life, grasping the nettle and living the writer's dream.
This entry was posted in children's books, parenting, stories, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is My Flamingo Really a Psychopath?

  1. Hi!
    I will tell you that more than anything else I’m sure that your kid is just pushing your buttons as to get your attention as he may not be getting enough to understand what he is going through or will get attention through his peers. Take it like this, go back to when you were a child & in that part of your life you may see an answer to what you are not getting right now. I also think that going out & exercising with him & talking as you walk or jog will start to break the ice that seems to be used as you were making this post. the more stress you release, you will finally learn how to adjust & teach your kid about a lot of different things. He is your kid & most are curious a lot about new things everywhere. If you need to find something on the internet or go out is a real great way to help him. You may also read or get him to read with you as you interact with him without getting on him a lot. He does need a lot of attention as he will need it also as he grows up more. that is what parents are supposed to do along with their work. They can’t ignore the kid or children as they are trying to work at home. This never works well. Set a schedule up to give him some of your time when he needs it. It will benefit you both as he can’t be taught to be an adult during his time as a child until he has all the necessary tools to know about being an adult.
    Rodney

Leave a Reply

